Waiting to Miscarry

The last 24 hours has been a bit nuts.

Leah and I got into a HUGE fight because I posted about the miscarriage on FB. Mainly because I’m feeling alone and wanted to find friends who’ve been through this to talk to. Also, because I don’t think that losing a child should be a secret. When people die that’s not a secret-so why this.

We processed a lot and today is a much better day.

Except that the medicine to help me miscarry hasn’t worked yet. I took the two doses of Cytotec, had some minor cramping and light (like first day of your period light) bleeding but no tissue passing and insignificant bleeding.

My RE perscribed another dose which we’ll take in a few hours.

For those of you who’ve been through this-did it take you this long to miscarry? What can I expect?

8 thoughts on “Waiting to Miscarry

  1. I miscarried spontaneously, so I can’t help you there. I’m sorry you’re having to go through all this. I am kinda with you about the Facebook thing. I wish I had told people rather than suffering alone. I’m sure I would have received some much needed support. Big hugs to you. Xx

  2. There’s still a lot of awkwardness that people feel about sharing details about their fertility challenges. I will talk about it openly if anyone asks, but it’s never something natural to work into a conversation. If more of us talked openly, fewer of us would suffer, feeling so alone.

  3. I don’t know about the medications to “help” a miscarriage progress, as all of mine were natural. I am sorry though that you have to go through this and even more sad that you feel alone. There are so many in the blog world and ttc forums (myself included) that have gone through miscarriage. If you ever feel like you need to talk, feel free to send me a message.

  4. A few of my miscarriages it took a while for my numbers to drop so It took me a while to start bleeding but my Dr. had me take the methotrexate shot each time after the first miscarriage because of how long it was taking for me to start the process. I will be praying for ya’ll.

  5. It took about 3 days for me. I had very heavy bleeding the first day and thought it was all over. Second day, light bleeding. Third day, I woke in the middle of the night and passed the tissue.

Leave a Reply

