Infertility, Endured Through the Prism of Race: A Cross-Post from NYT

photo from New York Times

I was sent this article from a biracial friend who’s TTC with her wife. I skimmed it quickly and sent a simple response, “Good article” and then asked about her IUI cycle. It’s only after a more thorough reading that I have more to say. While I found the article good, incredibly relevant, and necessary it also does a pretty awesome job of stereotyping women of color as uneducated, poor and uninterested in our fertility until it’s “too late.” Of course, it’s also entirely from a hetero-normative point of view, but we can’t expect everything to go our way, can we? I’m, of course, also a bit miffed that they quoted a doctor from Genesis Fertility as an “expert” on black women and infertility, especially since Genesis seemed blithely unaware or uninterested in the role my fibroids play in my fertility, they didn’t do a diagnostic test to insure my fallopian tubes were open and they didn’t notice the polyp in my uterus.

I know, I know it’s in the past and I’m now  working with a RE that cares and takes the time, but it annoys me that perhaps other women of color in NYC will go to Genesis for their fertility needs. Don’t! Don’t do it!

Thoughts?

 

 

 

Leave a comment